Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Posted by \m/ The Power of the Riff \m/ | File under :

Slovenia's Pyroxene formed back in 2012 and played as Crimson Harvest for 3 years before that and now here we have their debut EP, excluding the stand alone single 'Helium 3', from 2015 which is included here. So what we get is three new songs along with a cover of Black Sabbath's 'Electric Funeral', and the aforementioned 'Helium 3'. They seem to have put all of their focus into making these songs count and they are great tracks of classic, traditional, heavy metal. Think Nwobhm in a similar vein to a band like Angel Witch with a slight touch of Wicthfinder General but only a hint, this is in no way a doom metal album. The original tracks are all good with memorbale riffs, however the Sabbath cover is a bit pointless. Now don't get me wrong, Sabbath are my all time favourite band and Pyroxene do the song justice but this cover does nothing for me, probably because I know this song inside out. That would be my only complaint and it is only because I would like to hear more tracks from the band themselves. I get the feeling and I hope this is only the start. A promising debut.

Rating system:

0 - complete garbage
1 - not worth your time
2 - go listen to some old school metal albums and see how it's done
3 - bad
4 - mediocre
5 - not essential
6 - decent
7 - good
8 - metalheads the world over will be banging their heads to this
9 - essential
10 - masterpiece


Post a Comment